@BoomStudios BOLIVAR and HEAVY VINYL Receive Newcomer Award Nominations

BOOM! Studios is proud to announce it has received two nominations in the 2018 Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award (commonly referred to as The Manning Award). This includes nominations for Sean Rubin, writer/artist of Bolivar from the Archaia imprint and Nina Vakueva, artist of Heavy Vinyl from the BOOM! Box imprint.

BOOM! Studios has previously won the Manning Award in 2016 for the work of artist Dan Mora (Klaus) and tied for the award in 2015 with artist Jorge Corona (Feathers).

“BOOM! Studios has a long-standing tradition of discovering the best new talents in comics and providing them the platform to tell original stories, something we’re proud to see recognized with two of the five possible nominations for the 2018 Manning Awards,” said Matt Gagnon, Editor-in-Chief, BOOM! Studios. “Both Bolivar and Heavy Vinyl embody our company’s commitment to creating new comics for wide-ranging and diverse audiences to grow our industry. Congratulations to Sean, Nina and all of the incredible new talents recognized this year.”

The Manning Award has been given out annually at the San Diego Comic-Con since 1982. It is presented to a comics artist who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. It is named for Russ Manning, the artist best known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Wars newspaper strips and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book. Russ was a popular guest at the San Diego convention in the 1970s.

The recipient of the Manning Award will be announced during Eisner Awards ceremony to be held on July 20 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel. A full list of nominees can be found at the Manning Award website.

What do you think about the nominations? Let us know in the comment section below.  Also, don’t forget to Like, Share and Subscribe to all things Constant Collectible so YOU can keep up to date with all the news and reviews from a world of GEEK CULTURE.

Leave a Reply