Convention Connection: 2017 Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Nominees & Winner from #SDCC2017


Since the early 90’s San Diego Comic Con has been celebrating the hard work of YOUR local comic shop.


This year the nominees of comic retail stores reach across the globe reaching shops in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, France, Israel, and Portugal. The finalists were announced during the week of Comic-Con and the winner was announced during the  Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, which was held on Friday, July 21, at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel.

Here are the list of qualifications a retailer must meet in order to be considered and nominated.

GUIDELINES for nomination include:
  • Any retail store established in business for at least two years is eligible to be nominated.
  • Anyone—retailers, professionals, fans—may place a name in nomination.
  • A panel of industry judges selects a group of finalists to be subjected to an in-depth examination based on   the award criteria. Recipient will be announced as part of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards at Comic-Con International on Friday, July 10, 2015.
  • Previous winners are not eligible for nomination.


This years finalist were as followed (in alphabetical order):


Arsenal Comics and Games
Paul Roman Martinez, Timothy Heague, Elena Sfetcu
Newbury Park, CA


Central Comics Paris
Laurent Nucera, Christopher Borrot
Paris, France


Cloud City Comics and Toys
Jeff Watkins
Syracuse, NY


Robert Howard, David Lockwood, Michael Burke
Somerville, MA


The Comic Bug
Jun Goeku, Mike Wellman
Manhattan Beach, CA


Andrew Frith, Michael Petrusich, Gareth Bird
Perth, Western Australia


Ori Ayalon, Jacob Sareli
Tel-Aviv, Israel


Earthworld Comics
J.C. Glindmyer
Albany, NY


Famous Faces and Funnies
Richard Shea
West Melbourne, FL


Illusive Comics and Games
Anna Warren Cebrian
Santa Clara, CA


Jesse James Comics
Jesse James Criscione, Lorraine Criscione
Glendale, AZ


Kingpin Books
Mário Freitas
Lisbon, Portugal


Nuclear Comics and Skate Shop
Kenny Jacobs
Laguna Hills, CA

 (Friend of Constant Collectible)


Pittsburgh Comics
Colin McMahon
McMurray, PA


Silver Wolf Comics and Collectibles
Don Rhoads, Bakersfield, CA


Space Cadets Collection Collection
Jen King
Oak Ridge North, TX


Travelling Man
Nabil Homsi
York, North Yorkshire, UK


Anita Coulter
Berkeley, CA


Zapp Comics
Ben Lichtenstein, Corry Brown
Wayne, NJ



Winner of this years is for the Eisner Spirit of Comics Award was:


Robert Howard, David Lockwood, Michael Burke, Somerville, MA

Congratulations to all the nominees for 2017 and winner of the Eisner Spirit of Comics Award. I wish you all the best in 2018.

Are you sad that your local shop did not make the list? Let us know in the comment section below. Also, don’t forget to like, share and subscribe to all thing constant collectible in order to keep you up to date on all news & reviews from a world of GEEK CULTURE.