Convention Connection: The 2016 Harvey Award Winners


Baltimore Comic Con has come and gone and each year the Harvey awards are held to recognize outstanding achievements in over 20 categories, ranging from Best Artist to the Jack Kirby Hall of Fame. They are the only industry awards both nominated by and selected by the full body of comic book professionals. The 29th Annual Harvey Awards were presented on Saturday, September 3rd, 2016 in Baltimore as part of the Baltimore Comic-Con.

Here are your winners:

Best Letterer: John Workman, Ragnarok, IDW Publishing

Best Colorist: Laura Allred, Silver Surfer, Marvel Comics

Best Syndicated Strip or PanelBloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick

Best Online Comics Work: Battlepug, Mike Norton,

Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Tie: Two Brothers, Dark Horse Books and Corto Maltese: Beyond The Windy Isles, IDW Publishing

Best Inker: Klaus Janson, Dark Knight III: The Master Race, DC Comics

Best New Series: Paper Girls, Image Comics

Most Promising New Talent: Tom King, The Vision, Marvel Comics

Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarsky, Howard The Duck, Marvel Comics

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: Lumberjanes, BOOM! Box/BOOM! Studios

Best Graphic Album Previously PublishedThe Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ & Amal, Iron Circus Comics

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Peanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz, Scott Newman, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios

Best Domestic Reprint Project: Crimson Volume 1, BOOM! Studios

Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga, Image Comics

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic PresentationMarch: Book Two, Top Shelf Productions

Best AnthologyPeanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios

Best Graphic Album OriginalMarch: Book Two, Top Shelf Productions

Best Continuing or Limited SeriesSaga, Image Comics

Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, Saga, Image Comics

Best Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga, Image Comics

Best Cartoonist: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo

Best Single Issue or StoryPeanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz, BOOM! Studios

Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Award: Carl Barks, Al Jaffee

Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Beth Widera
Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Giella

What do you think about the list? Let us know your thoughts in the comment section below.